UCGHI Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversees the business and affairs of UCGHI and provides guidance for overall policy and direction. Board members facilitate communication between UCGHI and the 10 campuses. An Executive Committee leads the Board.

Executive Committee

  • Anil B. DeolalikarAnil B. Deolalikar, PhD, Chair of the Board
    Founding Dean, UC Riverside School of Public Policy
    Professor of Economics, UC Riverside
  • Jonna MazetJonna Mazet, DVM, MPVM, PhD, Co-Vice Chair of the Board
    Executive Director, One Health Institute, UC Davis
    Global Director, Project of USAID Emerging Pandemic Threats Program (PREDICT)
    Professor of Epidemiology and Disease Ecology, UC Davis​
  • Lara StempleLara Stemple, JD, Co-Vice Chair of the Board
    Assistant Dean, Graduate Studies and International Student Programs, UCLA School of Law
    Director, Health and Human Rights Law Project
  • Madhavi DanduMadhavi Dandu, MD, MPH
    Professor of Medicine, Division of Hospital Medicine, UCSF
  • Ndola Prata, MD, MScNdola Prata, MD, MSc
    Professor in Maternal and Child Health and Fred H. Bixby Endowed Chair in Population and Family Planning, UC Berkeley


  • Bernadette Boden-AlbalaBernadette Boden-Albala, DrPh, MPH
    Professor of Population Health and Disease Prevention, UC Irvine
  • Eric GoosbyEric Goosby, MD
    Professor of Medicine, UC San Francisco
  • Ninez PonceNinez Ponce, PhD, MPP
    Professor of Health Policy and Management, UC Los Angeles
  • Brandi SummersBrandi Summers, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Geography and Global Metropolitan Studies, UC Berkeley
  • Thomas J. CsordasThomas J. Csordas, PhD
    Distinguished Professor of Anthropology and Director, Global Health Program, UC San Diego
  • Bruce LinkBruce Link, PhD
    Distinguished Professor of Public Policy and Sociology, UC Riverside
  • Melissa SmithMelissa Smith, MD
    Director, Health Equity Initiatives, UC Santa Barbara
  • Matthew SparkeMatthew Sparke, PhD
    Professor, Politics Department, UC Santa Cruz

Ex-Officio Members

  • Carrie L. ByingtonCarrie L. Byington, MD
    Executive Vice President, UC Health
  • Thomas J. CoatesThomas J. Coates, PhD
    Founding Director, UCLA Center for World Health
    Professor Emeritus, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
  • Craig R. CohenCraig R. Cohen, MD, MPH
    Director, Family AIDS, Care and Education Services (FACES)
    Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, UCSF
  • Patricia A. ConradPatricia A. Conrad, DVM, PhD
    Associate Dean for Global Programs, School of Veterinary Medicine, UC Davis
  • Haile T. DebasHaile T. Debas, MD
    Chancellor Emeritus, UCSF